Pearl Cyrene Morton-Scott

(Children’s Aid Society)Pearl Cyrene Morton-Scott

My name is Pearl Cyrene Morton-Scott and I was born in Bed-Stuy Brooklyn. I went public school for elementary, and then I went to catholic school for middle school and high school. I’m going to St. John’s for college to study Sports Management, because I think it will be fun to deal with the players, but that’s second to my performance stuff.

I’ve been performing since I was about three or four years old. My mom had me in ballet until I went into singing and acting, and that’s my main focus now. My mom has been very inspiring to me. She’s just very encouraging. Sometimes I’ll be too lazy to do stuff that has to with my singing, and she’ll be the one like, “This is what you want. You need to get it together and do what you have to do.” So she’s very supportive and she works really hard just to keep me where I’m at and doing positive stuff.

I came to Children’s Aid Society three years ago when I was a sophomore in high school. I love it; it’s like a family! They really got me to stop being nervous to sing, because Kelly is so encouraging and she tells me all the time, “You have it, so don’t be shy about it.” That helped me a lot, so I just keep repeating that in my head.

I definitely want to continue singing in college. I’ve been looking for auditions, but I also want to start doing stuff on the internet with Youtube, like record myself singing. I also really like to do make-up. I’m obsessed with watching make-up videos on Youtube. I did my cousin’s make-up for her prom!

My dream is to be an actress/singer and just perform because that’s basically my life. I was having a conversation the other day and somebody asked me, “What would you do if you couldn’t sing?” and I’m like, “It would be boring.” I wouldn’t have anything else because that’s mostly my life. I think it’s just amazing how a voice could sound so nice and peaceful and it could help people. You never really know how singing could help other people, just by you singing yourself. You’re thinking, “Oh, I’m just doing this to perform,” and it could affect somebody so deeply. So that’s what I like about it. Like in chorus even, Brianna will sing and I’ll be like, “Oh My God! I have goose bumps!” And it’s just so powerful, somebody else’s voice.

I’m excited about being in The Tempest. I don’t really know what to expect, just waiting to see!

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
