Darlenys Santana

(The DreamYard Project)Darlenys Santana

My name is Darlenys Santana and I was born in the Dominican Republic. I came to the United States in 2009, when I was in the 7th grade. Life was easier in the DR; there was more nature, and I was also living in a house, not an apartment. My friends were my neighbors and it was nice.

When I came to New York, I went to school at Middle School 254 and now I go to Bronx International High School. There are a lot of Spanish speakers there, so it’s a little hard for me to keep growing in my English, because I keep speaking Spanish all the tim! Doing Shakespeare now is a little hard because there are many words that are new for me, so I just have to open my eyes for those words.

I’ve been with DreamYard since May of this year, so I’m new. I like it! Everyone is friendly and there are opportunities for people who don’t have the resources to pay for certain programs. In the Shakespeare Summer Intensive I learned to push myself to do what I want to do, and to be positive. It was interesting reading the language that Shakespeare uses in The Tempest. The language that he uses is a little different from English as we know it today. So it’s cool to learn the words that Shakespeare used when he wrote his plays.

I want to go on to be an actor and a psychologist. I like giving advice, and I like listening to people and their problems; like when they need to say something but don’t want to say it to everyone. When they tell me, I feel good about it because I can give them my advice. And it’s nice to help.

I think being in the Tempest will be great. It will be good to have the experience to see what it is like to be in a big production.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
