Eva Stanton

(Children’s Aid Society)Eva Stanton

My name is Eva Stanton and I was born on the Upper West Side. My family and I first lived in a really small apartment on 89th St.—I think it was just one room! Now I live on 98th St. in a slightly bigger apartment, but still not big enough because my brother and I have to share a room!

I’m about to go into my senior year of high school and am starting to write essays for college. When I was younger, all of my friends always had a really easy answer to what they wanted to be when they grew up. “I want to be a dancer,” or “I want to be an actress.” But I didn’t really know. I think my first answer was librarian, and then I wanted to be a teacher, and around 4th grade I hit the pop star phase that everyone goes through. Now I know I definitely want to do something working with people.

When I was five, my parents signed me up for violin lessons, which I did for eleven years. But around the 5th grade, I started performing in school musicals and I got more interested in singing than playing my violin! So when I found chorus, I realized that even though I had only been taking it for a year, I was already enjoying it way more than I was enjoying violin. I’m going into my 4th year with Children’s Aid; I’ve been there all throughout high school. Chorus is the first activity that I chose to do all on my own, so it’s definitely been an activity that I’ve stuck by. The four-hour a week commitment for rehearsals is huge for me with travel time, and there were times when I was told I’d have to drop chorus because I was taking a college course. Always my response would be, “No, it’s non-negotiable! I can’t drop chorus.” My time here allows me to do something that is really stress free. In high school everything becomes so competitive going into the college process, and chorus is a time when I’m making art, and it’s so joyful! It’s a really important part of my week, and I think it helps keep me sane. I also think that being here has helped me grow as a person, and it’s helped me gain a lot of confidence—going onstage and performing for other people, you’re really putting yourself out there!

I like rehearsing for the Tempest a lot. I think that it’s really interesting because after I joined chorus I pretty much stopped acting. At the time I just didn’t have time to be in musicals or do drama. I love that with the Tempest I’m going back to acting again, which is where I first started to fall in love with singing. After seeing Lear’s production of A Good Person of Szechwan, I was completely blown away. Lear’s production was so interesting because it hit me on a different emotional level because it wasn’t just showy stuff—it was so clever! I’m really excited to be doing something hopefully similar to that. I also feel that what’s exciting about the whole Tempest process, is that we’re creating a piece of artwork that’s really alive, so you never really know where it’s going to go and you’re constantly being surprised.

When I first found out we’d be performing at the Delacorte Theatre, I was freaking out! I was like, “Oh my gosh, this is so amazing!” Last summer when our partnership with the Public first started, we went to see Into The Woods at the Delacorte. When our chorus director Kelly told us that we were going to be performing there, I just remember sitting there thinking, “Oh my gosh, Oh my gosh! I’m going to be up on that stage!” It’s so cool. All of my family and friends are really excited.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
