Azureen Lebron

(Children’s Aid Society)Azureen Lebron

My name is Azureen Lebron. I was born in New York but I was raised in Colorado Springs. It was a big change moving from the suburbs to the city. The suburbs are a lot smaller, but the city is nice because there’s more to do. When I first came to the city I was like, “Oh my gosh, the city! Ahhh!” And I was a little scared to go on the train by myself. I was like, “Oh my gosh, New York, you get pushed onto the tracks right?!” But my grandma, who lives here, was like, “No, it’s fine; It’s just New York.” And eventually I got used to it, and now I’m like, “Woo hoo! I’m a city girl!” But I’ll always have Colorado in my heart.

I live in East Harlem now, and I’m going into 11th grade. I’ve started thinking about college, and I’m thinking I want to go to the University of Hawaii. I’m interested in becoming a marine biologist. I like the ocean. I’ve always liked learning about shipwrecks, like the Titanic, and it’s just been a dream of mine to go to The University of Hawaii. In the 4th grade I did a book report on the Titanic, and ever since then I was like, “Wow, shipwrecks are cool!” I just think it’s really fascinating, learning about artifacts and things like that.

I sang a lot growing up in Colorado. Ever since the first grade I was always in choir, and it was another way to express myself. It was fun! Ever since choir started we’ve had amazing opportunities. We’ve performed at Radio City and it all just feels like a dream. I love the arts, and back in Colorado there’s no way into the arts really. You have to be the best of the best to actually get into anything. But out here it’s just like a dream, the opportunities. It’s amazing.

When I found out we’d be in the Tempest, I was so exhilarated. I couldn’t believe it! Our chorus director Kelly told us to just have fun with the audition, and I did. And I got a callback, which was amazing! I’m going to be in the ensemble, and our choir is doing some things with the ensemble too, so it should be fun. I’m excited—this is my first real professional thing. My family is very excited!

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
