Alfonzo Hollis

Alfonzo Hollis (Brownsville Recreation Center)

Alfonzo HollisMy name is Alfonzo Hollis. I was born in Brooklyn, New York, and was raised in Brooklyn mostly all of my life. I live in Queens now in Ozone Park. When I was younger I went to Paul Robeson High School on Albany Avenue in Brooklyn. Then I went to college at Morrisville. I eventually transferred from there to North Country Community College and graduated in 2003 with my Bachelors in Business and Economics. After trying to find work in New York City for a while, I landed a permanent position with a top accounting firm in the world in publications at Deloitte and Touche. where I helped with the marketing, advertising and accounting material.

I love animals, I love weight lifting, I love football, and I love playing football and basketball. I’ve taken stage combat in the past, just in case I get cast in a film and they want somebody to beat me up or for me to beat somebody else up! And hopefully one day I’ll do commercials. I’m taking a class real soon, and hopefully certain things will lead me to doing more films. Working in film is definitely what I want to do more of. I mean if they want me to do theater in a big Broadway show, I’m not going to turn them down! I’m not going to say no! But I definitely love film. I just love doing certain scenes in film, and being in the camera action. Like most actors, I love the attention. I acted in a big horror movie last year and after that I said, “You know what? I can keep doing this!”

I’ve done a couple of plays in the past. I’ve also been in quite a few films as a background, as well as doing principle roles. I saw a casting notice for the Tempest in the gym I lift weights at during the week. I went to the audition and did a monologue from All My Sons by Arthur Miller. Rehearsals for the Tempest are definitely something new for me. It’s my first musical and my first time dancing on stage, so it’s a learning process. I see Todd, I see Norm Lewis, and I say to myself, “They’re singing the lead roles, maybe I can learn something from them.” As for the choreography, I told Todd that before this play starts I’m going to be 100% accurate. I’m not going to go out there and flop—I’ll be okay. The last week of rehearsals is when I’m going to go all out. Right now is a learning process, so I’m learning, watching everybody else dance, trying to sing, and watching everybody else sing. I’m going to do the best job I can. If they put me out there to do something else that I don’t normally do, I just have to do the best I can. I have people coming to see me, and I’m really looking forward to the first show. I think it’s going to be a great thing and people are really going to enjoy it. The one thing I’ve learned from doing plays in the past is that you just have to get over the first show. Once the first show is over, everything takes care of itself!

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
