Azali Cyril

Azali Cyril (The DreamYard Project)

Azali CyrilMy name is Azali Cyril and I was born in Manhattan, but I’ve been raised in Brooklyn. I like Brooklyn, though my mom says it’s a lot different than how it used to be. There was only a Chinese food place across the street years ago and now there’s a spa, an Indian food restaurant, and a bakery. It’s pretty cool.

I’m sixteen now and I go to the Beacon School. It has performing arts and visual arts, which they offer as electives in lots of clubs. My step-dad is a teaching artist at DreamYard, and I sometimes and that’s how I heard about The Tempest auditions. I also go to DreamYard events every now and then. It was Ms. Robyne that recommended this production for me, so I’m thankful for her. She’s my angel.

I went to middle school for theater arts, but high school is different. It’s more academic focused. I’ve been taking acting, dancing, and singing classes for a while at the Ifetayo Cultural Arts Program. I really want to go on to be a performer. I’ll pretty much settle for anything in the performing arts. I don’t even care if I don’t get paid a lot. I just can’t see myself doing anything else. My biggest dream would be to go on Broadway. I love Broadway. I’ve seen a couple of Broadway shows such as Wicked, The Lion King, and West Side Story. When I graduate, I’d like to go to Howard University because I would like to go to an HBCU—a historically black college or university. Howard University’s theater program is astounding and it’s supposed to be the best HBCU. I know a lot of people who go there also, so it just seems perfect. I’ve been visiting there every year since I was in the 5th grade.

I have a lot of people who are coming to see me in The Tempest. And I’ve told them, “I’m just in the ensemble!” But I know that there are no small roles, only small actors, so I feel good about being in the ensemble. And I love my costume! I’m wearing orange tie-dye pants, and a neon pink spaghetti-strap shirt with a colorful see-through long-sleeved button up shirt. I’m also wearing purple hoop earrings. It’s a really snazzy costume. Rehearsals for The Tempest have been so so so much fun! Even when we have to do things over and over again, I’m just thinking “yes!” because I want to do it again and again and again and again. I don’t ever want to stop. I’m really enjoying the singing and dancing together. It’s like a packet of awesome sauce.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
