Idania Quezada

Idania Quezada (Children’s Aid Society)

Idania QuezadaMy name is Idania and I’m fifteen. I was born in Manhattan and raised in the Bronx. My family is Dominican, but my mom was born in Queens. I have three siblings: two brothers and my sister. My sister and I are the artsy ones out of all of my siblings. My sister plays the guitar and she was in the Children’s Aid chorus before I joined. She’s in college now, but she’s how I learned about the chorus in the first place.

I’m in the 9th grade now and I go to TAPCo—Theater Arts Production Company School. I’ve been doing theatre since the 6th grade. I really like it. When I heard TAPCo was a theater school, I knew I wanted to go there. I found out about the school because my sister went there first before she went to college, and I’ve been there now since the 6th grade. TAPCo has dance, video, art and chorus. I’ve done video, dance and art so far, and I want to continue to explore many different things. I want my mind to be full, so for me this is just the beginning. I’m not really thinking about college yet because I want to stay focused on what I’m doing now, since time goes by so fast. I’ve always really liked video and dance. I’m actually going to go back to dance when I go to the next grade. I also really like media. I’m thinking I’d like to focus on dancing and singing at first, and if that doesn’t work out, I want to go into the media business. I have a lot of ideas for videos, and I really like the idea of directing things and coming up with crazy ideas.

I’ve been with Children’s Aid since I was in the 7th grade, so for about three years now. There was a short time when I stopped, because I felt like I needed time to myself, but then I missed it and came back to stay! I’m really excited about The Tempest—it’s so cool! It’s nerve-racking and exciting at the same time because we’re performing in public. It’s an experience that I’ve never had before and I’m looking forward to it.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
