Jinny Gutierrez

Jinny Gutierrez (The DreamYard Project)

Jinny GutierrezMy name is Jinny Shakira Gutierrez Zapata. I was born in the Honduras in San Antoni Hospital. I’m sixteen now and I came to the U.S. when I was three years old. I lived in Brooklyn for about two years, and then I moved to the Bronx when I was nine. I go to Theater Arts Production Company High School, and I’m going into the 10th grade. I’m the oldest child of four. I’ve always had to be independent, helping my mother out; cooking, cleaning, and taking care of the kids, so I guess that’s where I get my maturity from. I’ve always been treated older than my actual age.

I started acting in about the 6th grade. For me, acting at DreamYard is a very new experience because I’ve been in plays at school, but this is extremely serious. DreamYard is somewhere I can actually start my career as an actress. When I came to DreamYard, I first started by rapping in the Rhyme Factory, and that was really fun because I learned how to write lyrics. So now I’m becoming better at writing, which is great.

With the Shakespeare Summer Intensive, I feel like my eyes were opened in a different way. My perspective has changed. The quotations Tiffany brought in, and hearing other people’s interpretations of the quotations, made me view things in a different way that I hadn’t before. With that program, I feel like I grew on everyone and everyone grew on me. I’m upset the intensive had to end because now I’m like, “Oh my God…no more yoga? No more Tiffany?”

A big passion of mine is reading. I’ve been reading since I was five years old. Whenever I feel upset, or mad, or happy, I just pick up a book. One book I read recently was Anna Dressed in Blood—that book was awesome. I also really liked reading Bodega’s Dreams and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian. I LOVE reading!

I’d like to go on to act and do music, and I’d like to one day establish my own clothing line. I really want that. I want to be able to give back to the people I’ve grown up around. I want to someday get married, and live in a condominium that has a swimming pool, a home theater, all of those things!

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
