Martine St. Clair

Martine St. Clair (Children’s Aid Society)

Martine St.ClairMy name is Martine St. Clair, I’m fifteen years old and I was born in China. I’m adopted, I’ve been to China four times, but I have never really gone back to my orphanage or to the province I was born in. I was raised by my mom, who adopted me and my sister three years before. My whole family is un-blood related, but we call ourselves family because we’ve grown up together. My sister is going off to college so I get my own room. She’s going to Wellesley. I love her, and if anyone tries to hurt her I’d be there to defend her but we fight a lot. We used to fight more, but now we’re getting along a lot better. She’s a great sister but sometimes she gets pushed over the edge by me when I annoy her a little too much. But she annoys me too so we even each other out.

I love being part of the Children’s Aid chorus; they’re so funny! Everyone basically lives in either Queens, Brooklyn or Lower Manhattan, so we always have a group of girls going downtown, and a group of girls going uptown. I always go with the girls going downtown, and we always have really funny conversations on the train. I know we’re all loud and obnoxious, and you have these random strangers looking over like, “What’s wrong with those kids?” It’s really funny and I love all these girls. When I first came here last year, I didn’t know any one of them, and the only person I did know left when I got here, so that kind of sucked. But now it’s just like a big family. I got to know the girls better and now we’re really, really close.

I thought the idea of us doing the Tempest was pretty exciting. It’s something new for me and I like trying new things. I have no idea what’s going to happen in the future, and I like to live in the moment. I believe you just have to let the pieces fall and I feel that you should always be true to yourself.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
