Tommaso DiBlasi

Tommaso DiBlasi

Tomasso DiBlasiMy name is Tommaso DiBlasi and I was born in Brooklyn, New York. I was raised in a part of Brooklyn called Bergen Beach—not Brighton Beach, people always mistake it for there. It’s a little neighborhood in the middle of nowhere. It’s a very secluded, suburban-like conservative area. I kind of live in the middle of nowhere, but it’s nice and I like it.

For junior high school I went to Mark Twain in Coney Island, where I majored in theatre. Acting was never really something I was serious about at first; it was something that interested me because my brother was an actor. I saw him in shows like Ragtime at LaGuardia High, and I was like, “Holy Crap! That’s really cool!” So I thought, “I want to do that.” I thought it looked fun so I started going to dancing school. In the 8th grade we did It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane, It’s Superman! for our 8th grade show and I was superman. That was my first big show and afterwards I knew it was something I wanted to continue. I love it so much! So I auditioned for LaGuardia, got accepted, and that’s where I am now—I’m a rising senior. I really enjoy all aspects of theatre and it’s something that I’d love to pursue professionally if I can.

My mom put me in dancing school when I was little because my oldest brother was in dancing school. I’m the 3rd child of four, so I have classic #thirdchildsyndrome. I didn’t get a ton of attention growing up, and I was quiet because of that. My mom put me in dancing school because she saw that I wasn’t getting attention and so she could keep an eye on my brother and me at the same time. That’s partly why I started dancing—it was for attention, but I never really loved the process of learning the dances. I love just knowing the dance and being on stage and doing it. I LOVE that feeling when I’m confident in what I’m doing. Getting to that point in performance actually makes me appreciate the rehearsal process, even though it’s not my favorite part.  I recently did Sweet Charity at LaGuardia with a lot of dancing, and I was the only drama major amongst other dance majors. Technically I was the weakest link, because it was Bob Fosse technique and it was very specific, but I REALLY worked hard to not be the weakest link. And when we performed, people came up to me saying, “Oh, you stood out! I couldn’t believe you were able to keep up with these dance majors.” The dancing in my school is intense and the dancers are great, so for me as a drama major dancing with dance majors, I felt really proud of myself. It felt great to just get it done.

For college I want to major in broadcast journalism and minor in acting. I love sports! I’ve been a die-hard Mets fan since the 4th grade, and before I loved anything that wasn’t a person, I loved baseball. I feel like an easy medium between baseball and acting is broadcasting. I watch the games almost every day. I love listening to it and I never get tired of it. I listen to the baseball broadcasts even while eating dinner with my family! I’ll just scream out, “Oh crap!” and my sister will be like, “Shut up, I’m trying to eat dinner!” I just really get into it. Now, I’m really looking forward to our production at the Delacorte. I love The Tempest; it’s my favorite Shakespeare play and I can’t wait to perform it!

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.
