Cora Dennis

Cora Dennis (Brownsville Recreation Center)

Cora DennisMy name is Cora Dennis and I was born Charleston, South Carolina. I was raised by my grandmother in small place called Moncks Corner in South Carolina. It was a farm area and I worked on the farm, picking cotton and farming vegetables. I came to New York when I was eighteen years old to work and go to school. I lived with an aunt, who had me to baby-sit for a couple years. So I worked a little bit and then I got pregnant at twenty-one and I had my son Antonio, who passed away some years ago.

When I got to New York I had to get my GED, and then I went to Medgar Evers College for 2 ½ years. After that I got a job in the garment district where I worked for eighteen years with eight designers for a company named Oxford. I got laid off around 1985, and then I went out to Wall Street as an administrative secretary. I worked there until my son got sick and I had to go back and forth to Atlanta to visit him. When he passed, I went through a very hard time. I was taking medications from being depressed. Eventually, I decided that I didn’t want to take all those medications, so I started coming to the gym and I started working out. Then when hurricane Sandy came I got caught up in the storm and lost practically everything. I went through a lot in my lifetime. I have a very good husband. My husband and I got married in 1999, and have been together for thirty-four years. Around the time we got married I started coming to the Brownsville gym and I met a lot of friends. Before the storm I was working out five days a week and I also played table tennis competitively. I’m very competitive, and I love it! I have a passion for it.

Just coming to the Brownsville Recreation Center every day, it really helped me a lot. I worked with a trainer named Eddie at Brownsville for about five years until the storm came, but I just lost so much that I didn’t have the money to keep working out with him. But I continue to work with weights. I also love running and dancing. I go to dance class three days a week at another venue. Being so active has made it so that I don’t have to take the medication I used to take. I do things now that I really love.

About thepublictheater

Founded by Joseph Papp as the Shakespeare Workshop and now one of the nation’s preeminent cultural institutions, The Public is an American theater in which all of the country’s voices, rhythms, and cultures converge.